Joining the Anti Anti-Sweat Movement

I have a confession to make.  I’m sweating again… and I kinda like it.

I know that I have just made my girlfriends cringe.  Shudder.  Consider an intervention.  JUST LET ME EXPLAIN!

Although the National Cancer Institute denies conclusive evidence about aluminum contributing to cancer, deodorants and antiperspirants contain other nasty ingredients like parabens and fragrance.   Antiperspirant works by reacting with electrolytes in sweat to plug the sweat gland.  Ummm… ick?  We humans perspire mainly to regulate our body temperature.  Why did it take me so long to realize that this is pretty darn important?  Sure, I sweat (a lot) while exercising, but I do not sweat excessively in everyday life. I will therefore self-diagnose and say that I do not have an issue with hyperhidrosis (over-sweating).  So why would I mess with a very normal and necessary body function?

Enter my new love: homemade, coconut oil-based deodorant.

Homemade deo (1)

You will need:

  1. Adorable mason jar (should always be at the top of the list)
  2. 5 tbsp cold-pressed organic coconut oil
  3. 4 tbsp baking soda
  4. 4 tbsp arrowroot powder (available at Bulk Barn as “arrowroot flour”)
  5. Essentials oils – about 10 drops (I chose Ylang Ylang, as it is slightly musky and floral)

How to make?  Simply mix items 2, 3, and 4 together in a bowl, add #5, and whisk merrily.  When a smooth paste has developed, add to adorable mason jar.  All done!

I love it.  Does it work through a hot humid day outside while photographing a badminton tournament?  Yes.  Just as well as any other stick deodorant I would buy at Shoppers.  BUT.  Does it work through a man’s regular work day?  Not really.

SO!  Back to the drawing board for the man.  Over at Eighth Day Farm, I saw a recipe that wasn’t as ratio-specific as the one above.  Basically you whip 1 part baking soda and 1 part arrowroot powder with coconut oil until you have a thick paste.  I then added some manly-man essential oils: cinnamon bark, tea tree, lemon, and mint.  All into a very manly (but adorable) mason jar.  Did I stop there?  Oh, no.  I am on a mission to increase acceptance of natural products in this house!  I came across Jillee’s recipe for a spray deodorant and modified it a bit for extra-smell-killing power:

  1. 2 parts witch hazel distillate
  2. 1 part aloe vera juice
  3. Essentials oils (I used the same manly blend described above)
  4. Manly spray bottle (just kidding – but seriously, you need a spray bottle)

Mix it all together in the spray bottle and shake as vigorously as possible.  Well… that’s not necessary.  I just like imagining you vigorously shaking spray deodorant the way Cam did with a protein shake moments before it exploded in our kitchen.  I felt like I was watching it in slow motion, which made it even more hilarious to watch his reaction.  Anyhoo, I digress.  Simply shake the ingredients and use.  I recommended that the coconut oil deo be applied first, followed by a few sprays of this.  This two-pronged approach is, apparently, “okay.  Not bad.  I sometimes spray my face and it doesn’t burn”… “Why do you spray it in your face?!”… “It just happens!  Why are you so hyper?!”

I have performed the before and after smell tests and I can tell you that this is a very good natural solution for deodorant.  It still allows your body to sweat, which is, to echo the all-knowing Martha Stewart, a good thing.

– Jess

Leave a Reply

