Good Grief! Homemade Peanut Butter

So if you’re like me, you don’t understand the title.  Shoutout to my husband for this gem… apparently Charlie Brown would often say “good grief”, and he was in the cartoon “Peanuts”.  I think I’ll be asking him to name all of my future posts…

We are nutty about our peanut butter (ha!), but not so enthused about the rather bothersome ingredients.  I’m looking at you, hydrogenated vegetable oil.  Recently, Cam and I were at Bulk Barn and he suggested the craziest thing:

Cam – (pointing at bin of peanuts) “Hey, we could just make our own peanut butter!”

Me – (incredulous) “What?!  How the heck would we do that?”

Cam – (calm as a cucumber, very matter-of-factly) “Just throw peanuts in the food processor, add a little salt and oil, and you’re done!”

It is literally that easy.  Cam has the amazing ability, thanks to hours and hours of Food Network viewing, to look at a manufactured food and immediately deduce how to make it at home.  He is a great inspiration for my homemade adventures (though I won’t give him credit for my oatmeal face mask).  The ingredients for at-home PB are wonderfully simple:

IMG_1111

  1. Food processor
  2. Peanuts (I buy roasted and unsalted so I can control the salt content, but you could roast your own or buy completely nekkie peanuts)
  3. Salt (I use kosher)
  4. Oil (I use safflower oil because it is rich in linoleic acid and doesn’t impact the taste of the PB like OO might)
  5. Optional – Maple syrup (for sweetness if desired; I have left it out before and its still tasty)

Throw (or gently place, your choice) the peanuts into your food processor and sprinkle with salt.  You can always add more later if desired.  Whir on low for about 1 minute then let sit for a few minutes.  This gives the peanuts a chance to release some of their natural oils.

IMG_1112

Wow my iPhone camera can be blurry sometimes.  Sorry for the poor quality!

Continue doing this until the peanuts get mushy at the bottom of the bowl.

IMG_1117

This is where you can start adding oil.  Before I do that, however, I take a moment to stir the peanuts with my spatula to ensure good mixing.  With the processor set on low, slowly add oil.

IMG_1118

Add in batches, because you will end up with (albeit delicious) peanut butter soup.  I add some oil slowly until there is no residue on the bottom of the processor, i.e. the peanut butter is very viscous and whirling well in the bowl.  This is also a good time to add maple syrup (while processor is on low).  Its ready when it looks like this:

IMG_1123

Because homemade peanut butter doesn’t have any hydrogenated oils, it will always be a bit runnier than you may be used to.  Throw it into a cute container and keep in the fridge.

IMG_1126

So easy, right?  I’m getting more comfortable with losing measurements in a recipe and simply tasting as I make.  Homemade success!

Enjoy!

– Jess

Leave a Reply

